Buyer Guides

Slang.ai vs Phonely: Restaurant Specialist vs Generalist AI Receptionist

October 28, 2026 Saqib Ahmed Buyer Guides
Slang.ai vs Phonely: Restaurant Specialist vs Generalist AI Receptionist

Slang.ai vs Phonely: Restaurant Specialist vs Generalist AI Receptionist

Slang.ai suits a reservation-led restaurant that wants an AI host built for dining rooms and priced per location. Phonely suits a small business that wants to test an AI receptionist on real calls for free before paying anything. The two products barely overlap. Slang.ai answers restaurant calls, books tables, and charges a flat monthly fee for each location. Phonely answers general business calls, charges for a bucket of minutes, and lets a new customer start on a free plan with 100 minutes a month. Picking between them starts with one question: is the phone mostly reservations, or mostly everything else?

Key takeaways

  • Slang.ai costs $399 a month per location on Core ($379 billed annually) and $599 per location on Premium ($539 billed annually). A three-location group pays three times that.
  • Phonely starts free at 100 minutes a month, then Starter at $50 a month ($33 billed annually) and Professional at $150 a month ($100 billed annually). Enterprise is quoted from as low as 5 cents a minute.
  • Slang.ai does not take phone orders by voice. It texts the caller a link to the online ordering page.
  • Phonely’s own pricing page disagrees with itself on included minutes. Plan cards say 200 and 650 minutes for Starter and Professional, while the comparison table on the same page says 250 and 750. Confirm the figure in writing before you buy.
  • Slang.ai has a real review base: G2 4.4 from 57 reviews. Phonely has almost none, and the Trustpilot score often quoted for it belongs to a different company.

How do Slang.ai and Phonely compare at a glance?

Slang.ai and Phonely both answer the phone with an AI voice, but they were built for different rooms and they charge in different units. Slang.ai charges per location per month with no minute meter. Phonely charges a monthly fee for a bucket of minutes, then an overage rate per minute. The table below puts the published figures side by side. Figures come from each vendor’s pricing material as read in October 2026, with the Phonely minutes discrepancy stated rather than resolved.

Point of comparison Slang.ai Phonely
Starting price $399 a month per location (Core) $0 a month (Free, 100 minutes)
Paid plans Core $399, Premium $599, Enterprise custom Starter $50, Professional $150, Enterprise custom
What you are billed for Locations, flat monthly fee Included minutes, then per-minute overage
Included allowance No published minute or call limit on standard tiers 100 minutes free; 200 to 250 on Starter; 650 to 750 on Professional
Overage None published; Enterprise mentions bespoke call limits $0.25 a minute on Starter, $0.30 on Professional (monthly billing)
Phone orders No; texts an ordering link Not a stated restaurant ordering product; confirm workflows on a demo
Reservations Books in OpenTable, SevenRooms and Yelp; Resy direct; Tock in development CRM and API integrations on Professional only
Free trial None; demo request only Free plan, 100 minutes a month, ongoing
Review base G2 4.4 from 57 reviews SourceForge 0 reviews; thin independent base

What does Slang.ai actually sell?

Slang.ai is an AI phone agent for restaurants, and only restaurants. It answers reservation calls, hours and directions questions, and guest inquiries, then books tables directly into the reservation systems restaurants already use. The company was founded in 2019, and CloudTalk reports it raised $36 million in February 2026. That history matters because it explains the price: this is a vertical product with deep integrations, not a general answering service with a restaurant template on top.

Pricing is per location, and that single fact decides most comparisons. Core costs $399 a month for one location, or $379 a month billed annually. Premium costs $599 a month, or $539 billed annually. Enterprise is custom. There is no per-minute or per-call meter on the published tiers, which means a restaurant that takes 2,000 minutes of calls in a busy month pays the same as one that takes 400, subject to whatever call limits sit behind the Enterprise tier’s mention of bespoke limits. A buyer should ask about those limits on the demo call, because the published page does not state a number.

Core includes reservation management, text links to online ordering, call recordings and integrations. Premium adds custom branding, cross-location suggestions, AI-powered Direct Text over SMS, and enterprise insights. Spanish support costs $99 a month as an add-on on Core, according to the October 2026 pricing note. One October 2026 review describes Spanish as a Premium inclusion as well, so the two accounts conflict. Settle which one applies to your plan during the demo, and get it in the quote.

What does Phonely actually sell?

Phonely is a general AI answering platform for small businesses of any kind. It answers calls, takes messages, handles FAQs, and connects to other software on its higher plan. The company is Melbourne-founded and went through Y Combinator in summer 2024, according to CloudTalk. Its pricing page as fetched on October 28, 2026 frames the plans by call counts: Starter for up to 50 calls a month, Professional for 50 to 1,000 calls, Enterprise for 1,000 or more. That framing is new enough that the dollar figures and minute allowances in this post come from the October 2026 pricing note and CloudTalk’s reads of the same page, not from the page text returned on October 28. A buyer should confirm the current figures at checkout, because this page has already changed shape once.

The free plan is the reason most buyers look at Phonely at all. It costs nothing, includes 100 minutes a month, a phone number, and more than 100 voices and languages. The catches are real: no transcripts or analytics, and when the 100 minutes run out, the service stops answering until you upgrade. That makes the free plan a genuine test on real calls, and a poor production plan for any business that depends on the phone. Starter at $50 a month ($33 billed annually) adds premium voices, transcripts and AI analytics. Professional at $150 a month ($100 billed annually) adds conversational SMS, CRM integrations, advanced API access, outbound calling and A/B testing. Starter connects to nothing; every integration that matters sits on Professional.

Two billing details from Phonely’s own page deserve a careful read. First, the minutes discrepancy: plan cards list Starter at 200 minutes and Professional at 650, while the comparison table lists 250 and 750. CloudTalk’s pricing guide uses 250 and 750 and flags the same split, and it also notes that Starter overage reads $0.25 a minute in the monthly view and $0.35 in the annual view. Second, post-transfer minutes can be billed: if Phonely’s connection stays active in the background after a transfer, those minutes can create carrier costs that are passed on, except for SIP REFER transfers and Enterprise custom telephony. Ask how your transfer setup is configured before you sign.

What does the comparison cost at real volumes?

Price alone favours Phonely in almost every straightforward minute count, and that is exactly why the comparison needs a worked example rather than a headline. Take a single restaurant that receives 600 minutes of calls in a month. On Slang.ai Core, the bill is $399, flat, because minutes are not metered. On Phonely Professional, 600 minutes fits inside the 650 to 750 minute allowance, so the bill is $150 a month, or $100 billed annually. Phonely is $249 a month cheaper on that volume, before any add-ons.

Now run the same volume across three locations. Slang.ai Core costs $399 times three, which is $1,197 a month, or $1,137 billed annually. Phonely does not price per location: Professional includes five phone numbers, and the vendor page does not state a per-location fee. That does not automatically mean one $150 Professional account covers three restaurants properly, because each site needs its own greeting, hours, reservation book and call handling. Confirm on a sales call whether one account serves three sites, or whether each site needs its own plan. Do not assume the $150 figure scales to three dining rooms.

A third example shows where Slang.ai earns its price. A reservation-led restaurant taking 1,500 minutes of calls in a month still pays $399 on Core, because there is no minute meter. The same volume on Phonely Professional exceeds even the higher 750 minute figure, so the bill becomes $150 plus 750 extra minutes at $0.30, which is $375 a month. At that volume the gap narrows to $24, and Slang.ai also books tables directly into OpenTable or SevenRooms, which Phonely only approximates through a Professional integration that must be configured. Volume plus workflow, not volume alone, is the honest comparison.

Which reviews can a buyer actually trust?

Slang.ai has the stronger review evidence of the two, and it is not close. G2 lists Slang.ai at 4.4 from 57 reviews as of October 25, 2026, with consistent praise for a natural voice and efficient call handling, and consistent complaints about complex queries, limited language support, setup effort, and price-tier thresholds that need confirming in writing. CloudTalk’s editorial score is 3.8 from 5, and it should be read as an editorial judgment from a competitor, not a user average. Its verdict is still useful: reservation booking is the strength, pricing opacity and the missing phone-ordering feature are the weaknesses.

Phonely’s review evidence is thin, and one popular figure is simply wrong. Trustpilot’s 4.8 from 509 reviews belongs to phonely.co.uk, a UK VoIP landline company, not to phonely.ai. Never use that score for the AI receptionist. SourceForge lists zero reviews for Phonely, and CloudTalk states its independent review base was too thin to score against, giving an editorial 3.8 with support and reputation as the weakest dimension at 3 from 5. Phonely’s own page and its $16 million Series A, reported by CloudTalk, tell a buyer the company is funded and growing. They do not tell a buyer how current customers rate the product. Treat Phonely as an unproven product with a free test, and run that test before committing.

What about phone orders, the question that decides restaurants?

Slang.ai does not take phone orders by voice. That is stated plainly in its own comparison framing and repeated across October 2026 reviews: when a caller wants to order food, Slang.ai texts a link to the online ordering page. For a reservation-led dining room, that is a minor gap. For a takeout-led restaurant where most calls are orders, it is the wrong product, because the caller still has to complete the order themselves on a web page, and some will not bother. Loman, another restaurant product, makes the same point in its own comparison material, and the underlying fact is Slang.ai’s own.

Phonely makes no restaurant-ordering claim at all, which is a different kind of answer. Its Professional plan includes outbound calling, conversational SMS and API access, so a business could build an ordering workflow, but nothing in the published material says Phonely completes a food order by voice out of the box. A takeout restaurant comparing these two should test the actual order path on both products during a trial or demo, with a real menu, rather than accepting either vendor’s general claims about handling calls.

How should each type of buyer decide?

A single-location, reservation-led restaurant should start with Slang.ai, and should still run the demo with its real reservation book open. Ask for the call limit behind the flat fee, confirm whether Spanish is included or a $99 add-on on your plan, and confirm the Tock integration status if Tock is your book. If the demo books a table cleanly into your system and the flat fee fits, the per-location price is the cost of a tool built for exactly this job.

A multi-location restaurant group should price Slang.ai honestly first: three locations on Core is $1,197 a month, and Premium is $1,797. Then ask Phonely, in writing, what one account covers across three sites and what each site’s greeting, hours and integrations cost. If Phonely covers three sites on one Professional plan with acceptable booking behaviour, the saving is large. If each site needs its own plan and its own integration work, the saving shrinks and the comparison turns on which product books tables with less staff time.

A non-restaurant small business should not buy Slang.ai at all. It is a restaurant product, and its price buys reservation integrations a plumber or a law firm will never use. Phonely’s free plan is the sensible first step: run 100 real minutes through it, read the transcripts on Starter if you upgrade, and decide from what your own callers actually said. A business that outgrows the free plan’s cap in the first week has learned something useful for $0, which is the best possible outcome of a test.

For more detail on each vendor’s own pricing, read Slang.ai Pricing in 2026 and Phonely Pricing in 2026, and for the review evidence behind this comparison, see Slang.ai Reviews and Phonely Reviews. The broader question of whether an AI receptionist or a human answering service fits a small business is covered in AI Receptionist vs Answering Service. CloudTalk’s Slang.ai review and its Phonely pricing guide are the independent reads cited for prices and scores in this post, and both should be labelled as competitor editorial coverage, not user averages.

Frequently asked questions

Is Slang.ai cheaper than Phonely?

On minutes alone, Phonely is cheaper at most volumes a single small business reaches, because its Professional plan covers 650 to 750 minutes for $150 a month against Slang.ai’s flat $399 per location. Slang.ai only closes the gap at very high call volumes or when its reservation booking saves staff time. Compare the workflow as well as the monthly fee.

Does Slang.ai take phone orders?

No. Slang.ai does not take phone orders by voice. When a caller wants to order food, it texts a link to the online ordering page. Restaurants whose calls are mostly takeout orders should test that path with real callers before buying, because some callers will not complete an order from a link.

Is Phonely really free?

Phonely’s free plan costs $0 and includes 100 minutes a month, a phone number, and more than 100 voices and languages. It has no transcripts or analytics, and it stops answering when the 100 minutes run out until you upgrade. It is a real test on real calls, not a production plan for a busy phone line.

How many minutes does Phonely Starter include?

Phonely’s own page says both 200 and 250 minutes for Starter, depending on whether you read the plan cards or the comparison table, and the same split applies to Professional at 650 versus 750. Confirm the allowance in writing at checkout, and ask which figure your contract uses.

Which service has better reviews?

Slang.ai, by a wide margin. It rates 4.4 on G2 from 57 reviews. Phonely has no meaningful independent review base: SourceForge lists zero reviews, and the Trustpilot 4.8 often quoted for it belongs to phonely.co.uk, an unrelated UK company. Run Phonely’s free plan yourself rather than relying on review scores.

Can one Phonely plan cover three restaurant locations?

That is not settled in the published material. Phonely does not price per location, and Professional includes five phone numbers, but each restaurant needs its own greeting, hours and reservation setup. Ask Phonely in writing whether one account covers three sites acceptably before assuming the $150 price scales.

Saqib Ahmed, Founder & AI Engineer

Written by

Saqib Ahmed

Founder & AI Engineer, Peak AI Agency

I write the agents that run on clinic phone lines and inboxes: the conversation engine and the booking logic behind them, plus the integrations with Pabau, Fresha and Phorest. Everything here comes out of systems we have actually shipped, not a content plan.

Email me a question

Next step

Hear it answer your phone before you pay a penny

Book a 20 minute call. We will play you the AI receptionist taking a real booking, then tell you honestly whether it makes sense for your clinic.

No contracts on the call. No pressure. If AI is wrong for your clinic we will say so.

Book a demo WhatsApp